Los Angeles Latino International Film Festival Announces Latinx Inclusion Fellowship Recipients

LALIFF Latinx Inclusion Fellowship BELatina Latinx
Photo courtesy of deadline.com

The Los Angeles Latino International Film Festival (LALIFF) announced the ten visionary Afro-Latino and indigenous Latino filmmakers selected for its Latinx Inclusion Fellowship.

Award-winning filmmakers William D. Caballero, Evelyn Lorena, Nicole Mejia, Sebastian Rea, and Kristi Uribes are the selected fellows for the Latino Indigenous group, and Elyssa Aquino, Jeanette Dilone, Alexis Garcia, Gabriella A. Moses, and Eli Vazquez are the fellows chosen for the Afro-Latino group.

“We are honored to be able to provide this unique fellowship that, with the support of Netflix, allows us to uplift underrepresented Latino voices in the industry,” said Academy Award®-nominated actor and co-founder of LALIFF and the Latino Film Institute, Edward James Olmos, in a press release. “These ten selected fellows demonstrate the richness of talent in our community. We are excited to embark on this fellowship with them and are looking forward to the films they’ll be producing in the coming months.”

Each of the fellows will receive a $20,000 grant to produce a short film and receive one-on-one mentorship and various networking opportunities. Their completed films will premiere as part of the 2022 version of LALIFF. The fellows will also participate in the festival’s Industry Week to further develop their careers and gain the industry access needed to succeed as working artists.

“Expanding this year’s program to include both Indigenous Latinx and Afro Latinx filmmakers helps create even more opportunities for people to see themselves and their experiences reflected on screen. This year’s Fellows are talented storytellers with unique creative visions. We can’t wait to see their films come to life with support from the incredible team at LALIFF,” says Pete Corona, Director of Drama Series at Netflix.

This year’s mentors include creative producer Alicia Marie Agramonte; head of development and producer at Ojalá Producciones Christine Dávila; screenwriter, director, and producer Lissette Feliciano; screenwriter and director Javier Fuentes-León, among others.

For Image credit or remove please email for immediate removal - info@belatina.com